Skip navigation

Many years ago, I was fortunate enough to have eaten afternoon tea at Al Muntaha, the restaurant at the top of the Burj al’Arab, the infamous seven star hotel in Dubai. The details of what transpired there is, perhaps, a story for another day. I think it will suffice to say that I had afternoon tea there because a proper meal would have been well beyond my budget.

The meal was scrumptious and matched only by the panoramic view with sand and sea stretching as far as the eye could see. It was so satisfying to have sat amongst the heavens, to have rested there for a while. And yet, what stands out in my memory was the music. Perhaps my memory, amplified by the ambiance of that place and my fondness for it, has been exaggerated beyond all reasonableness. Perhaps. I searched for that music for quite some time after, but was unable to discover what it was. All I knew was that it was a cover album of various Guns N’ Roses songs. No doubt that search only placed that music upon a higher pedestal in my mind.

But last Friday, I managed to discover the name of that album. Bossa N’ Roses, an electro-bossa remix of the best Guns N’ Roses songs. It perfectly captures the peace and relaxation of that nirvana in my memory. Exquisite.

Obtain it by whatever means you see fit. Highly recommended.

PS: If you haven’t voted in the poll in last week’s post, please do.

Leave a Reply

