Skip navigation

Now, most of my recent posts seem to be about meeting these amazing famous people, or going to amazing events. But is that really all that exotic for me? I mean come on, I’ve met ministers etc before at ALP shindigs, so me meeting C-list celebrities isn’t that surprising.

But here are some things that you would not expect to happen to me at all:

1) I did not complete a graded homework set: Ok, so I complete ungraded homework on the bus all the time- you guys know this about me, but I don’t think I’ve ever failed to complete a graded homework set. For most people, it would be wholly unremarkable. But this is me we’re talking about. I’ve been so busy that I haven’t even been sleeping. I started getting worried when the syllabus said it shouldn’t take us more than 5-6 hours to do this homework. But then I forgot about it. Until my maths lecture when the lecturer said we could hand it in then, or at the drop-off box before 3pm. Then I went to another lecture and forgot about it. Then I remembered again at 2pm. So I ran off to the library to borrow the textbook (still haven’t bought the damned thing) and started doing it. Then I read the due-date on the homework. It was Fri Oct 17… the next week. I’d done the bloody next week’s homework. So I printed it off and had half an hour to do 6 hours of work. I almost got there. It was completely illegible, but I’d done Q1,2,4 and about 60% of q3 by the time I got there. I was scribbling q3 on the lift on the way to the dropbox and the lift was somewhat faster than expected. So there we go. America is corrupting me already.

2) I own a legitimate Windows CD. Isn’t that remarkable? Now I’m not one of those communist/homosexuals with a Mac fetish, but who seriously owns a copy of Windows? You get it with your computer (then illegally download XP to replace the shoddy Windows Vista they gave you). Noone actually buys it, so noone actually has a CD…

Yeah, I went to see Craig Mundie (Bill Gates’ successor at Evil Corp) speaking. Apparently he’s taken over Bill Gates’ tradition of setting aside one week a year to tour universities and chat with students and faculty. And I won a copy of Vista in the raffle. Really brilliant guy. I’ll probably write a blog post on it some time. But probably not because I am so ridiculously busy. I’ve what? promised a blog on the republican convention, the palin rally and several other things now, and done none of it. Meh.

3) A girl said I had “natural charisma”. I’m not even going to give any context for that quote. In any context it is ridiculous and hilarious. Me. haha, I actually burst out laughing when she said it, which I guess is a tiny bit mean. But I honestly couldn’t help myself. My friend is convinced its because I have an awesome accent.

So there you go. By the time I return to Australia, none of you are going to recognise me. I’ll be a Fosters-drinking, sport-loving surfie.

Leave a Reply

